No general election for Sark in 2022

The nomination period for candidates for Sark’s 2022 general election closed today at 12 noon with only five candidates meaning that Islanders will not go to the vote as planned on 14th December 2022. Jolie Booth, Christopher Kennedy-Barnard and Andrew Miller are new to the island’s government whilst John Guille and Helen Plummer return to the House having previously been voted into Chief Pleas in the last contested election in 2018. This no means that not one single Conseiller sitting on Sark’s government has faced the electorate at an election.

These five Conseillers-elect will be sworn into office on Friday 13th January 2023 and 4.45pm with the remaining four vacancies to hopefully be contested at a further election in March 2023.

Leave a Reply

Want to be part of the conversation?
Login or sign up to leave a comment.